Today's world is busy with something vying for our attention. Taking time to stand still is important to help us refocus on our destination, identify what we need to progress & plan to thrive!

As I was rushing around today trying to make the calls I needed to make, email the people who needed to be emailed, drop off and pick up the people and items I needed, I found myself becoming more and more conscious of how my time was being used on "doing" and I had spent very little time on "being". As I’ve grown older, I’ve come to realize how important it is to take time to stand still and just be. People have a wide range of ways they do this. For me, it’s taking time to be quiet and take in the beauty that is around. It’s that conscious decision to "Stand Still". I truly wish someone had taken time to help me work on this years ago although I was probably hustling so much I wouldn’t have appreciated what they were saying.

It’s something that has taken me a while to figure out. I start my day, or try to, with time in quiet reading, planning, writing and just focusing on what the day will bring. I also try to take time throughout the day to just "stand still", quiet myself and focus on the people and my surroundings instead of myself and whatever is going on. This moment helps me to refocus. I take a moment to then see what are the truly important things that I need to do that will allow me to thrive. Some days it to thrive as a husband. Others days its as a father. Today it was to thrive as a researcher. It doesn’t mean I wasn’t trying to be my best at other things but I’ve learnt that by directing my energy, I not only thrive in a particular area or two but I am also better able to manage my energy for other things because I have made a conscious decision about how I am going to use my energy.

Each day we have the opportunity to try new things, explore new ideas and new places. Take time to ‘stand still’ - focus your energy, decide where it will be best used in order for you to thrive.

Every day is a PD day!