Often in our day-to-day interactions and the work that we do, there are many positives that take place but we don’t often take time to see them. Instead, we spend a great deal of time on the things that didn’t go well or mistakes or where we think we failed. Even when these happen, there is often things that were positive that we can build upon.

For sure there are times when we negative things happen. This past year my mom passed away and it took me a while to slow down enough to spend time grieving for my loss and then discussing that loss with my wife and children. It wasn’t until a few weeks ago when I went to help install her headstone and spent some time just sitting that I was able to begin the process of healing.

Even in this, I was learning about myself, my family, the process of grieving and dealing with loss. It wasn’t easy but there have been positives come from this. Most of the setbacks and problems we deal with can teach us many things if we are willing to look for the positive and take time to see the positives that are taking place around us each day.

For me, I’ve been using a gratitude journal each evening to just focus the end of my day on what is going well, what I am grateful for and what has gone well. I also include what didn’t go so well along with what did I learn and how can it help me tomorrow. This way, I am slowly building toward seeing positives and moving toward solutions.

Each day is filled with struggle with some days seeming to have one after another. Don’t allow people to tell you that just being positive will make this change. It won’t. In fact, as an educator with all that is happening, there can seem to be days that this happens. That’s okay. However, you don’t have to deal with this alone - reach out to co-workers, friends, write a journal, connect with other teachers online. Don’t try to deal with it all in isolation. It’s normal to feel overwhelmed at times and struggle with seeing the positive. Many of the teachers I have worked with and those I consider close friends who I have met online have shared that there are struggles. Sometimes many struggles. And it’s okay.

Finding the positive sometimes takes effort. It requires us to begin to shift our gaze just a little. Sharing our positives can help in slowly making a shift. Learning comes in many forms, shapes and sizes, it’s connections with the people around us, the children we spend each day with, our online connections, the information we take in, and so much more. Indeed, it can happen at any time, any where. Being open to it sometimes requires us to shift how we are seeing what is happening around us. Sometimes we need help from others and that’s okay.

Thanks to my friend @datruss for pushing me to get back to this. I appreciate the push!

Every day is a PD day.