As we approach the unknown, do we hesitate because of the fear of what might be or because we aren't ready to let go of what we had? This will be difficult but it is also an opportunity. Every day is a PD day. #myPDtoday



Each day we have an opportunity to push ourselves to do something different from the previous day. This isn’t a new idea. In fact, it’s a really old idea that has been retold in so many different ways.
But every now and then, there are moments that come along where, as individuals, this really comes into focus.
We can more clearly see that there is opportunity before us if we but step out into the unknown and do what we know we are capable of doing.
As I look at what is happening around the world, especially related to education, I see an opportunity to enact change. There is opportunity to nudge the paradigm and set in motion a ripple of change when it comes to how schools support learners and the role of school in communities.
A friend from my Twitter PLN sent me a tweet yesterday that has sat niggling at me since I read it.



I am ready …. I think….
But, as I pondered this, I thought "What exactly can I do? I don’t sit any position to enact change. I don’t have a big following or much influence. Really, realistically what can I do?" All of this might be true but, underneath of this is a fear. The fear of putting oneself out there. The fear of being wrong. The fear that people will laugh. The fear people will ignore you and overlook you. I think that is my greatest fear, to be overlooked and ignored. I mean, why try!
For a number of years, I’ve been working to support teachers as they grow and improve. Exploring the reasons that some teachers seek new learning and continue to grow while others seem content with what they are currently doing. Examining new ideas for assessment and ways of approaching problems in education. However, part of me has held back from stepping out. As Seth Godin state, I’ve hesitated from shipping - for fear of….
A few years ago, as I was contemplating what I really wanted to do, I wrote this mission statement:
To relentlessly pursue supporting educators to develop creativity and innovation in the classroom through connections, relationships and effective professional development.

But part of me has been fearful, not willing to let go of what was while also not quite ready to step into what might be. I’m not really sure how to do this so I’ve been hesitant, not shipping because I don’t have it figured out. I’m not sure how this all works.
And now…..
I realize that waiting any longer is because I’m fearful - of failure, of not knowing, of getting it wrong, … of all those things that keep us from stepping forward - but also fearful of being successful, having to produce, to take my creativity in directions I haven’t had to because I’ve hesitated, of what it might mean for myself and my family. You see, not doing and not shipping is the familiar. It is comfortable and, as Todd Henry points out, comfort is the enemy of creativity. To be creative requires that I be ready to step into the unknown and embrace all the fear that it brings, which is difficult. It’s like that first time bungee jumping - wanting to jump but fearful of falling. But the rush and freedom after you step off the platform is AMAZING.
I’m jumping. Stepping off the platform to embrace the unknown.
I don’t know how this will turn out but I know that there is a great deal I can do to help others. Just today I received another boost of support.

I honestly am not sure how I’m going to do this but I know that I have hesitated too long before stepping out, shipping what I have done, and beginning to stretch myself creatively. This blog has been a beginning step. I’ve been slowing easing myself into this the last few weeks. If anyone has any tips or suggestions, please send them my way. This is either going to be a wonderful adventure or a spectacular crash and burn. Either way, it will be an amazing ride and light show!!
Ship before you’re ready, because you will never be ready. Ready implies you know it’s going to work, and you can’t know that.
The purpose isn’t to please the critics. The purpose is to make your work better.
Polish with your peers, your true fans, the market. Because when we polish together, we make better work. Seth Godin
So, I need your help just as I want to help you. Together, we can get better!
Now, it’s time to ship.